Tutorial on how to access the Messenger account

Messenger is an instant-messaging app linked to your Facebook account. It allows users to chat and send offline messages to their Facebook contact list.

1
How to create an account ?

Messenger is part of Facebook services, so you need to create a Facebook account to get access to Messenger. Go to the Facebook home page, enter your first name, surname, mobile number or email address, password, birthday and gender and click "Create account".

A security code is sent to your email address or phone by text message : enter the code on the page, validate. You have now access to your own Facebook account.

If you want to secure your Facebook account more, you can also click on the top right arrow, go to “settings” and then “security and connexion”, then choose your settings to receive an alert everytime a new device connects to your account, choose friends to contact in case your account is stolen (they will be able to send you a restauration code), or get the 2-steps identification by text with your mobile number.

2
How to login ?

There are 2 ways to access Messenger : through your Facebook page, or the Messenger home page . Log in your Facebook page on the Facebook website and click on the bubble at the top right. You will be able to send new messages directly to your contacts, or use the right sidebar to see who is online (marked by a green dot) and click on your contact’s name to start the discussion. You can also access and log in to Messenger with a separate app available on the iOs store and Google Play Store

3
How to logout ?

To log out of Messenger, simply click the down arrow at the top right of your Facebook page, and then “Sign out”.

4
How to delete an account ?

In order to delete your Messenger account, you need to delete your Facebook account. If you want to close your Facebook account, you have 2 solutions. You can deactivate it, or delete it permanently. Deactivating means people won’t be able to search for you online and your “wall” won’t be available anymore, but deleting means you won’t ever get your account back.

To delete a Facebook account, go to the Delete Account page and click “Delete My Account”.

You will then have to type in your password, and a captcha code, then click “ok”. Your account will be deleted within 14 days, but if you connect within that time period, you can cancel the request.