Tutorial on how to access the Slack account

Slack is an online communication platform primarily aimed at companies. It allows a workspace to be created where different collaborators can exchange messages, send files to each other and launch audio and video conversations via a web app. Users can also interact by using screen sharing. Here's how to register, sign in, sign out or close an account with Slack. 

1
How to create an account?

To use Slack, you must create or join a workspace. 

To do this, go to the website’s homepage and click on "Get started". 

slack-createaccount-UK.JPG

- If you do not have a workspace, click "Create a Slack workspace". 

Enter your full name (first and last name), email address and a password (6 characters minimum). Choose whether or not you want to receive emails from Slack and then click "Create an account". 

Confirm your registration using the code you received by email. (It may be in the junk email). 

In the next window, enter your workspace information: the name of your company, the role of your workspace (working on a project, sharing ideas, etc.) then the emails of the people you want to invite. 

Your workspace is now created and you are signed in! 

To find the address of your workspace, click on your profile at the top left of the application. It can be found under your company name (e.g. mycompany.slack.com) 

 

- To join a workspace, the administrator must invite you by email.

Otherwise, click on "Sign in to Slack" and enter your professional email address to find the address of your workspace.

Follow the on-screen steps to create your Slack account. 

2
How to login?

To sign in to Slack, use the website or the application. 

Enter your workspace address and your sign-in details (email address and password). 

Click on “Sign in”. 

3
How to logout?

To sign out of Slack, click on your name at the top left of the application. 

Then simply click on "Sign out of (Workspace)". 

 

You can also choose to sign out of all other sessions from your account settings (Account > Settings). 

4
How to delete an account?

To delete your Slack account, you must first deactivate it.

 

Sign in and click on your name in the application. Click on "View profile". Select "More" and then click on "Account settings". 

At the bottom, click on "Deactivate account". 

When your Slack account is deactivated, you can request the permanent deletion of your profile via an online form. (This request is also necessary if you are the administrator of a workspace.)

Enter the company name, workspace URL, workspace name and your profile information (email address, name). Click on “Send”. 

 

If you are the owner of a workspace, you can also delete it from the Settings & permissions > Settings section (the option is at the bottom of the page). Remember to export your data before deletion.